Awards

It’s just another piece of paper…I want a trophy…

All through elementary school my children got awards for everything: attendance, artwork, kindness, intelligence, conduct.  You name it, they got it.  In fact my middle child, got the Triple C (character, commitment and courage) award from our then state attorney general, Eliot Spitzer.  My way too innocent and very young daughter learned a new vocabulary word a few years later from the same man—he had become our governor and a scandal led to his resignation.  Maybe you read about it.

At some point, one of the kids realized that these awards were just a piece of paper with writing on it.  That child wanted something more, like a trophy.  I chuckled.  In my day, I thought, we only got awards when we won.  For me it was in the swimming pool.  We got ribbons.  Blue, red, and white for first, second and third, respectively.  I have quite a few ribbons stashed away someplace, the blue ones usually came from relays.  We never got awards for school work; good work and conduct were expected, not rewarded.  And we never, ever got a grade higher than 100 percent. But times change and I definitely changed with them.

Anyway on to the real story and my first award!

One evening I was cruising around Freshly Pressed–a Word Press site with links to interesting blogs—a picture of man’s beard and headline about a beard tax caught my eye. Did that ever look interesting!  And it was.  In fact all the posts by Sarah Angleton on The Practical Historian are interesting.

Liebster Award discover new blogs!I am thrilled and honored that Sarah nominated me for the Liebster Awards.  It’s a blog award, from one blogger to another who has less that two hundred followers.  It’s not a piece of paper but a jpeg.  However, it means that some one noticed me and realized that I’m putting a little effort into my work.

Thank you Sarah Angleton!  I appreciate it.  And readers please check out her blog.  It’s a treat.

One of the prerequisites is to answer a few questions.  Sounds like those games we played back in school, right? Or on a first date?  Or on the road with the kids?  But here are the questions and my answers:

1. What was your first job?

In high school I was a cashier at a locally owned grocery store.  It was the first store in town to have scanners.

2.  Why did you start blogging?

After the financial crisis of 2008, commentators politicized the issue–talking fast and out of both sides of their mouths.  Words that I had studied in economics years ago were kicked around. I had this strange suspicion that nobody knew what they were talking about—because I surely didn’t.  Nothing made sense. So I started to write, in simple terms and without a political agenda, just to help me understand.  Whilst researching I found Word Press and decided to blog. I’ve moved on to other topics as they interest me…

3.  What kind of family did you grow up in?

It was a very, very interesting family.  We had dinner together every night at six o’clock–without fail. 

4.  What is the most expensive thing you have ever purchased?

Personally, alone and without any help from anybody—I bought my second car, a sporty little thing.  I had to sell it when I went back to school.

5.  Is this where you thought you be at this age?

Oh yeah.  I’m happy with my choices and very content.  Although I always thought I’d be the cool mom—I’m not.  Actually I’m really far from it.

Bryce Canyon National Park Courtesy: Photographs in the Carol M. Highsmith Archive, Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division.
Bryce Canyon National Park
Courtesy: Photographs in the Carol M. Highsmith Archive, Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division.

6.  What is your favorite place that you’ve ever visited?

I love to drive across the G.W. Bridge into New York City; I think it is the most spectacular view in the world. But I lived there, thus my favorite place that I ever visited was Bryce Canyon. It was shockingly beautiful.

I have to switch the order of the next few questions; read on and you’ll understand why:

7.  What is your favorite movie? 

My favorite movie is Local Hero. An oil exec travels to a Scottish village with the intention of purchasing the entire village for his company. It is a bit of a love story and has many quirky characters, but it’s the scenery that brings me back to watch it again and again and again.

8.  If you could travel anywhere, where would you go?

So if I could travel anywhere, at least this week, it would be the village in which Local Hero was filmed.  Pennan, Aberdeenshire, Scotland. I hope it hasn’t changed much since 1983. I would probably take a day trip to the beaches of the movie. 

9.  Cat or dog person?

A while back I would say neither.  But then Audie entered our lives. 

Photo of Audie Cat
Audie Cat.

He was three months old.  We had promised the SPCA that Audie would be an indoor cat.  Our house has many windows, our yard many trees and critters abound.  Audie spent his first five months, in the dead of winter, as an indoor cat running from window to window.  One evening, as spring and summer collided, we forgot to close the windows.  Audie took note and busted down the screen to get outside.  Late at night we heard a strange noise and went to investigate.  Audie was at the back door and the screen was dangling in the window leaving us open to the elements.

We told Audie that he could never go outside again because we had made a promise. Cats, they don’t understand promises. He’s been an outside cat ever since…coming in for food and a little protection when he feels like it. His spirit won me over, and I officially became a cat person.

10. Your favorite book?Yes…definitely a tough question. But if pressed I would pull out a novel by Jane Austen or F. Scott Fitzgerald. All of their works work for me.

Questions completed.

Another prerequisite is to nominate ten other blogs for the Liebster award.  I nominate in alphabetical order:

Amelie G’s Diary

Amy’s Scrapbag

Cleopatra Loves Books

Infamous NY

Love the square peg

Pilot fish

Postcard Memory Place

S.J. Thomas Book Blurbs

The 1000th voice

What comes next

Nominee’s, if you are so inclined to accept, here are the rules:

1. Thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

2. You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you. 

3. You must nominate 10 of your favorite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

4. You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer–my nominees can answer the questions that I answered above.

And that is it!

Finally one last thanks to Sarah Angleton!

6 thoughts on “It’s just another piece of paper…I want a trophy…

  1. Thank you for nominating me, I really appreciate it! I love this post too as it didn’t take my children long to work out that the stickers and awards handed out in class often went to the ‘naughty’ children! I raised two out of my mould, sceptical!

  2. Congratulations!! And thank you so very much for the nomination! I love this award… it’s so different from the usual ones. Can’t wait to get started on it 🙂

  3. Achieve AND behave- or else! It seemed to work too. When did we start awarding stickers for mediocre behavior? Definately a dog person here. Cats come with attitude. Congratulations ladies! And that is all you get (I suspect that is more than enough for you both).

    1. Thanks! You make me smile–Congrats is more than enough.
      Or else did work. We never asked what or else meant, or else we would have found out! I agree cats have attitude, but dogs slobber and shed–too much work for me.

Leave a Reply

